Client Testimonials & Press Quotes
"You got that Petty thing down...you guys sounded outstanding!"
-Greg Kihn, KFOX 98.5
"I was amazed by their performance. They make you want to go out and buy Tom Petty CDís."
-Susan Snider, Southern Fried Magazine
"Probably the best tribute band to grace our stage - we can't wait to have them back!"
-Valerie Hopkins & Marianne Lucchesi Hamilton,
Los Gatos Music & Arts
"The Refugees are GREAT! They sound just like the original band."
-Stacey Poncia, Rec. Supervisor, Burlingame Parks & Rec.
"The Refugees were awesome! I would recommend this band in a heartbeat!"
-Jenny Tucker, Recreation Supervisor, City of San Bruno
Fan Reviews
Reviewer: Susan
Venue: San Carlos Date: 7/30/10
This is the first year of many that I can't see Tom Petty in concert. I heard about your band, and of course had to go to the park. I actually thought it was last week, and drove around for two hours, lost so I am glad I was off by a week because I got to see you today. Amazing! I loved it. It made my weekend, thank you. The last song was great too!
Reviewer: Chris
Venue: The Boardrock in Tracy Date: 5/28/10
We made the trip to Tracy from Santa Clara and it was WELL worth it! I'm personally a huge fan of good tribute bands so maybe a bit biased but if you have a chance to see these guys then don't miss out. They are GOOD! And a ton of fun to shuffle your feet too! Lead singer sounds just like T. Petty and the band catches all the riffs and melodies the Heatbreakers do in concert. A++.
Reviewer: Greer
Venue: The Crow's Nest Date: 2/6/10
Great show last night at the Crows Nest....music was awesome and the crowd was fun. Nice surprise to hear you doing some Mudcrutch, you can count on me at your next local show.
Reviewer: Karen
Venue: Private Party Date: 8/8/09
I had such a blast dancing to your music (and singing with you too)!! You played all my favorite Petty songs. Everyone enjoyed your music so much-you even had two eighty year olds up and dancing!! It was the best birthday party I have ever had or been to for that matter. Jody you do Tom proud, and I love your heartbreakers. Rick, Mike, Louis and Raymond(Mr. Benmont) you guys are awesome. Thank you so much for a truely unforgettable day!! You rock!!!! Looking foward to seeing you again very soon.
Reviewer: Dolores
Venue: Lake Arrowhead Village Date: 7/31/09
A truly spectacular show. The band was right on and played all the favorites. The crowd didn't want it to end. After three encores the crowd still wanted more.
Reviewer: Gina
Venue: Gilroy Garlic Festival Date: 7/25/09
The Gilroy Garlic Festival will never be the same! The Refugees came out in true form and got the crowd up on their feet and dancing, keeping alive the music of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers! Super great day! Can't wait till I can catch another concert!!
Reviewer: Kelly
Venue: Gilroy Garlic Festival Date: 7/25/09
You guys rocked this show. My friends and I had so much fun dancing to Petty tunes. The crowd was loving you guys. Great venue and sound. You definitely were the highlight of the day for me at the festival. Looking forward to catching The Refugees again!
Reviewer: Daisy
Venue: Gilroy Garlic Festival Date: 7/25/09
Wow! amazing band. they brought me back to some really great times! These guys are polished and Petty to the T!
Reviewer: Praveen
Venue: Foster City Summer Concert Series Date: 7/17/09
Awesome work. We really enjoyed it and the whole audience did as well. You guys truly rocked. Felt like a Tom Petty concert. I have a 4 year old son who can't stop talking about you guys...we ended up seeing you guys at the Gilroy Garlic Festival as well - always a good show. Keep it up.
Reviewer: Toni
Venue: The Crow's Nest Beach Party Date: 7/2/09
Although I am usually not a fan of tribute bands, I really enjoyed the Refugees! For the most part, they played the greatest hits, with some nice surprises-for example, "The Wrong Thing to Do," "Stop Dragging My Heart Around," and "King's Highway." I definitely recommend seeing them if you get the chance!
Reviewer: Barry
Venue: The Crow's Nest Beach Party Date: 7/2/09
We finally made good on our quest to see you at the Crow's Nest. Don't know if you recall, but the last time you played there we couldn't attend because of the age requirement. We had a great time and the band was terrific. Cheers, Barry
Reviewer: A.J.
Venue: Los Gatos Music in the Park Date: 6/28/09
Jody, Saw your show in Los Gatos...hot day! Really enjoyed hearing a bunch of Petty classics. Look forward to seeing you again...been bragging to friends about you guys all week. (Seen Petty live 30+ times) Thanks for the T-shirt.
Reviewer: Jennifer
Venue: The Crow's Nest, Santa Cruz Date: 3/7/09
We had a great time! Thanks so much. Hope to see you guys again!
Reviewer: Eric
Venue: St. James Gate Date: 2/7/09
Great show last night! Really enjoyed the selection from Full Moon Fever. Let me know when you guys play another local show. I'm there.
Reviewer: Natalie
Venue: St. James Gate Date: 2/7/09
Hey Jody! Great show at St. James, too bad I could only stay for one set... Rock on, I'll come out to see you again!
Reviewer: Anne
Venue: The Crow's Nest, Santa Cruz Date: 11/22/08
Absolutely LOVED the show at the Crow's Nest on Sat...and so happy to hear TP tunes since he doesn't come around but so often. Keep me posted on your local shows....cause this #1 Petty fan (the only one in a TP tshirt the other night :-) is now also a big fan of the Refugees. Thanks for taking the time to chat in the lobby. Happy holidays!
Reviewer: Marianne
Venue: Belmont Summer Concert Series Date: 6/22/08
Loved your performance - you guys rock, literally. Thanks for a Sunday afternoon well spent.